Day 71 – My New Flash!

27 04 2009
Im really really happy with how this turned out!

Im really really happy with how this turned out!

Today I finally got my first external flash!  Ive had a lot of fun playing with it since I got home although its definitely going to take some getting used to.  I really wanted someone to pose for me so I could take a nice portrait photo but unfortunately I was on my own in the house all night.  Luckily for me, Ruby decided to let me take a photo of her!

So there are a couple of things I did different here.  Firstly I decided to use my 50mm prime for something else OTHER than low lighting photos, and pushed the aperture up to around F11 i think.  Then I had the flashgun triggered wirelessly and let the light bounce of a radiator on the right hand side.  I also held a reflector on the left to bounce some light back.  Im definitely gonna start using this lens way more than just indoors from now on!