Day 52 – LX3 R.I.P.

8 04 2009
I was so upset, I couldnt even speak at his funeral :-(

I was so upset, I couldnt even speak at his funeral 😦

Me and Jess had decided to do a bit of clothes shopping in town today and naturally since I do my blog, I thought it would be a good idea to bring my compact and take my daily photo.  Unfortunately it wasnt to be.  When we got to castlecourt and got outta the car I was like “Did you see where I put my camera?”.  Then Jess remembered that she thought she heard something fall when we were getting into the car at my house, but thought it mighta just been the car closing.

In what felt like the longest drive of my life, we finally got home and the whole time I was sure that it was just going to be sitting there.  I was wrong.  Someone had lifted it whilst we were away.  I cant begin to describe how gutted  I was; to be honest all I wanted to do was cry.  May seem a bit silly to say that but it was extremely expensive and its a pain in the hole to replace.  I thought it still had my SD card with all the Maximo Park photos on it but it turns out I forgot to put it back into the camera, so at least I still have it.

Whilst I was more than devasted, it made me realise that I was pretty silly to be carrying around something so expensive like that.  And although it was a lot of money, its still replaceable.  I have a lot to be thankful for (and not in a weirdo born again christian way!); I have a great job, great family, great girlfriend, great friends.

Its only a camera after all 🙂





Day 51 – Maximo Park

8 04 2009
Paul Smith - Lead Singer Of Maximo Park

Paul Smith - Lead Singer Of Maximo Park

A lot of people I know dont agree with me, but I think Maximo Park are a fantastic band and I have loved them ever since  I heard their first album (In fact, A Certain Trigger is the only album that I stayed in a music store to listen to the whole way through and then subsequently bought!) and have followed them ever since.  Paul Smith is one of my favourite lyricists.

Me & Jess saw them play Spring & Airbrake just before xmas, and tonight we went to see them in Mandella Hall to hear tracks of the new album, as well as old favourites.  It was an unbelievable gig as always.  He is the most energetic singer Ive seen which you can see from these videos here and here [ill have the second link working later on once the second video is finally uploaded].

Ive got another few gigs coming up which im really looking forward to: Doves in Mandella Hall; Woodpigeon in Spring & Airbrake which Conall told me about and they are fantastic; possibly Starsailor and then glastonbury. Woo Hoo!